Bernie and old friends

Even with the wind chill of 7, people came out to march and rally for Bernie Sanders in downtown Indianapolis today.  I rode my bicycle so I could keep up with the marches while taking photos.  http://1drv.ms/1JY4OzY

I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised to see so many friends from Indiana Moral Mondays, Black Lives Matter and protests for a living wage, and protests against the Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA) at the march and rally supporting Bernie.  But there were also a great diversity of people who I hadn’t seen on the streets previously.

In a different sense, although we have never met, Bernie is an old friend of mine in that he was a conscientious objector to the Vietnam War.  I was granted conscientious objector status, but decided to resist the draft instead, and returned my draft cards.  This shows how long and how deeply Bernie Sanders has been involved.

 

Leave a Reply

