Derek’s car reduction story

My friend Derek Glass is too busy developing digital community tools like Sustainability Scout to do much writing, but he gave me permission to share the following from a recent email message.

This is how we make progress, one story at a time.

I still have a drive to the north side everyday for work, which I grudgingly do. I’d love to find a way to get rid of that. Bike ride would take an hour and a half a day and the bus times didn’t really fit my work schedule, plus the bus doesn’t even go all the way to my work.

BlueIndy stops at 62nd street. I was actually just getting ready to sell my car before I got this job. I was working downtown and biked the last 2 years to work. I think I put on 1,000 miles on my car last year.”

Leave a Reply

