I Cannot Protect You

White people need to stand up and speak out now.  To affirm that Black Lives DO Matter.  You need to make your friends and neighbors uncomfortable by making these discussions happen.  Silence is complicity in this.

“Now, what we’ve been doing is looking at the data and we know that police somehow manage to deescalate, disarm and not kill white people every day. So what’s going to happen is we’re going to have equal rights and justice in our own country or we will restructure their function in ours.”   Jesse Williams, BET Awards, 6/26/2016

This is from Dominic Dorsey, a young black leader in Indianapolis I know, this morning:

“To be Black in America is to exist in a constant loop of PTSD triggered by senseless, needless, acts of violence against bodies that resemble yours and have no value to those who see your existence as disposable.

Don’t talk to me about crime in my community. Talk to me about fear from those who are supposed to intervene to prevent it.

You want the system to work. I want a new system. I’m not meant to live or survive in this one.”

 

cannot protect you

I Cannot Protect You

 

 

Leave a Reply

