Scattergood Earth Walk

I’ve been thinking about my Quaker friend and mentor, Don Laughlin, who died recently.  Don was a very committed environmentalist.  He and his son designed an environmentally friendly house in Iowa City, with solar panels, in floor heating, etc.  I was finally able to see the house when I spent the night there with him during the weekend of the Climate Conference that was held at Scattergood Friends School and Farm, which Don had also attended.  I spent the night so that I could participate in the Earth Walk the next morning.  The following video is of the photos I took along the 12 or 13 mile walk from the School into Iowa City, carrying signs about our environment.  Audio interviews of people during the walk are included.

Leave a Reply

