Facebook: Quakers and Spiritual Seekers

As I’ve been thinking more about how Quakers might make what we have more widely known to spiritual seekers today, I tried to imagine where spiritual seekers might be looking.  My assumption is that social media would be the place, but if you have other ideas, please let me know.  When I did an Internet search related to Quakers/spiritual/seekers, not much was found.

The main Quaker organizations, such as Friends Committee on National Legislation (FCNL), the American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), and Friends World Committee for Consultation (FWCC) for example, all make use of social media.  The Quaker meetings I’m aware of tend to be not as active with social media.

I realized there is no one entity that speaks for all Quakers.  At the same time, I think many of us feel called to respond to spiritual seekers.  My idea has been to have some information on social media for people who are spiritual  seekers, and might be interested in some Quaker ideas and practices.   We are used to doing Internet searches of key words to find information today.  So it makes sense to have social media presence related to Quakers welcoming spiritual seekers.

Since Facebook is the primary social media tool today, I think, the first thing I did was setup a Public Facebook group called Quakers Welcome Spiritual Seekers, https://www.facebook.com/groups/228282177624944/ 

This is a public group, because that is the intended audience.   After the fact, I began to think about some of the comments posted on other Facebook sites, so I quickly set the administrative tools to require comments to be reviewed and approved.  I had hoped that the Facebook group would be active and interactive, so we’ll see how this comment approval process works.

dsc_0032

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

