Spiritual Deepening

During Quaker meeting for worship at North Meadow Circle of Friends yesterday, I was moved to share the following message:

“I thought I had been doing a fairly good job of paying attention to my spiritual life, but my experiences over the past year related to #NoDAPL and with Native Americans has deepened, broadened and strengthened my spiritual life in ways it is difficult to express.”

Here are some more photos from the #NoDAPL rally in downtown Indianapolis Saturday.

This entry was posted in #NDAPL, Arts, Indigenous, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiritual Deepening

  1. lizopp says:

    Thanks for the reminder that we are given different gifts of the Spirit. I feel like a dolt now–a Friendly dolt, though–given the number of times you’ve written about how important photography is as an expression of your spiritual life.

    Blessings, Liz

    • jakisling says:

      Liz, I don’t want you to feel like a Friendly dolt. Although I did write to you that words are the worst way to express spirituality, they are one of the main ways we poor humans have to attempt to share their spiritual experiences. I would be interested in seeing if we could develop more of a spiritual vocabulary. Maybe we can be like Eskimos and have dozens of words to describe snow. I have been thinking more about this, for example, when I created the Facebook page and twitter account for spiritual seekers. https://www.facebook.com/groups/228282177624944/

Leave a Reply

