Speaking at #noDAPL

Below is video from Friday’s Standing Rock Solidarity Rally, beginning with Brandi Herron speaking of things we are thankful for.

That is followed by my remarks about how I came to refuse to have a personal automobile.  I had said that I would speak about the Keystone Pledge of Resistance.  But I felt I needed to provide the background for that first.

In “The More Beautiful World Our Hearts Know Is Possible”, Charles Eisenstein writes, “an activist will inevitably find herself working on the level of story. She will find that in addition to addressing immediate needs, even the most practical, hands-on actions are telling a story. They come from and contribute to a new Story of the World.”

After that story, I talked about the Keystone Pledge of Resistance, and offered training for anyone interested in organizing or learning more about nonviolent civil disobedience and direct action.

 

Leave a Reply

