Remember nonviolent direct action is the way to a successful revolution

On this July 4th we are in the midst of a new revolution, a nonviolent revolution.

Below is an amazing video of Nahko Bear performing solo at the Water Protectors Youth Concert Sept 8, 2016.

He says the resounding message he hears during his travels is:

“Remember that nonviolent direct action is the way to a successful revolution.  And that is a hard one, because they are so bad (chuckles).  When they come at us you just want to hit ’em, you know?  Just sit with that.  I know it’s tough.  They’re going to try to do everything they can to instigate you.  But remember what we’re here for.  We’re here to create peace for our Mother.  We’re not here to create more violence.”

#NODAPL   #MniWiconi #RezpectOurWater #AllNationsYouth

 

 

DSC_0446

#NODAPL  Supporting Nahko, Indianapolis, 2017

 

“Mitakuye Oyasin”

Aho Mitakuye Oyasin
This is the place for all my relations
To bring celebration through meditation
Giving thanks for all of creation
We are so provided for
We are so provided for
We are so provided for
We are so provided forAll of the blessings I have received
How could they have been bestowed upon me?
So I’ll put it all back in the ground
Back in the soil where I am found
It all started
Wakan Tankunl Skan Skan
Something holy moves here on the land
It is my brothers’ and my sisters’ hands
It is the way we make our plans
We don’t make them
Well this is it, what is this?
This is Eden, Eden is
Where I live and where I give
My whole being to the Great Spirit
We are waiting and we’re on our wayAho Mitakuye Oyasin
This is the place for all my relations
To bring celebration through meditation
Giving thanks for all of creation
We are so provided for
We are so provided for
We are so provided for
We are so provided for
“Directions”

For the West
For the North
For the East
For the SouthGrandfather, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now
Grandmother, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance nowFor the West (hmm)
For the North (hmm)
For the East (hmm)
For the South (hmm)Grandfather, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now
Grandmother, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now

For the West (hmm)
For the North (hmm)
For the East (hmm)
For the South (hmm)

Grandfather, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now
Grandmother, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now

HOKA!

For the West (ooo)
For the North (ooo)
For the East (ooo)
For the South (ooo)

Grandfather, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now
Grandmother, I’m calling on you
Need your guidance now

“Wash It Away”
[Refrain]
We’re a part of something special
We’re a part of something special
We’re a part of something special
It’s a crack in time, a wrinkle
Fallen from the nest, young eagle
I will pull my feathers out
Stay humble
Stay humble
Stay humble
Stay humble
Stay humble[Verse 1]
Uncle Mana taught us like an elder
Took us under, older brother
He said
This is powerful country
This is powerful country

And we felt like we were returning
To our land rebels
And the shepherds of the sea
Takers are taking what the leavers will leave

So grieve me the black prince cicada
Such a loud voice for a tiny creature, oh

Teach me to let go of all of my pain
I do forgive, I don’t forget these things
I do forgive, I don’t forget these things
We burn the blue gum for a safe passageway
Drink of the earth, smoke of the dirt

And my warpaint was red ochre clay
Hoka hey
My warpaint was red ochre clay
Hoka hey
Red ochre clay
Our prayers igniting, cast out into the shire
And the song of our struggle
Came straight from the fire
It goes:[Pre-Chorus]
Holy, holy grandmother, we sing
Wash us clean of our pain and suffering
Give us strength for our new beginnings
In my best thanks I sing[Chorus]
It’ll wash away, it will wash away
Lift ‘em up
It’ll wash away, it will wash away
Lift ‘em up
It’ll wash away, it will wash away
Lift ‘em up
It’ll wash away, it will wash away –
Lift ‘em up
Ooh lift ‘em up (yeah)
Ooh lift ‘em up (yeah)
Ooh lift ‘em up (yeah)
Ooh lift ‘em up

[Verse 2]
In my dreams you were an aboriginal man
Gave me your hat
And your past in one hand
You said
You’ve come to be with the rainbow serpent
Red hands, red land, red worship
Red hands, red land, red worship
Just then I heard bush mama crying in the chasms
For a stolen generation
And the children that haven’t
Come home, come home, stay home
Come home, come home, stay home

My bullets are my words
And my words are my weapons
Chain me to the pipeline
For our rivers and mountains, we scream
Today’s a good day for my ego to die
Today’s a good day for my ego to die

Spirit, live on in my heart
In my body, my mind
In my body, my mind
Then sister crow came with the murder that day
So we tattooed the bird nation onto our faces
She said, “we sing to let go of all of our pain
We dance the story
To remember when things changed”
Remember when things changed
Remember when things changed

“Dear Brother”
[Verse 1]
Dear brother
When you gonna call back your mother?
She thinks you’re sleeping in the gutter
We both know you can do better
When you gonna write your older brother?
A letter
Hey man I miss you, gettin my shit together
And for the record
I wrote this note as a reminder
Hermano mio there’s a future
We can believe in
It’s gonna take more than songs of justice and freedom
There’s a furture, we can believe in
Gonna take more than songs of justice and freedom
Freedom! Yeah
If you’re thinking, about leaving
Hold my hand, understand this too can be a kingdom
Blessed
And when the rain comes
Put your hands in the dirt, baba this is where you came from
This is where you came from
This is where you came from
This is where you came from
Systems broken no fucks given
Wealthy people living off the backs of the broken
Dreams of America
Dreams of America
Need a pipe carrier
Let me smudge you off so the vision can get clearer
Your mothers crying boy can you hear her?

[Pre-Chorus]
What I see, in you
A young tree bearing fruit
Place to start
Don’t hide behind your heart

[Chorus]
You gotta put down the weight
You gotta get out of your way
You gotta put down the weight
You gotta get out of your way

[Verse 2]
Dear lover
You can find me on the front lines covered
In the blood and tears of another
Brother, sister, mother
Revolutions being broadcast on Facebook and Twitter
There’s a noise
I can hear it when the megaphone roars
Wipe the tears from this tear gas choice
We have a choice
Stand in front of your fear, baby, time to find your voice
It’s a story
A love story
We can believe in
Death, birth, your life’s worth is trending
It’s a story
A love story
How vain are we to expect a happy ending?
I got my hands up
Follow directions still they shoot us
I’m fucking sick and tired of no justice
No peace
Promise me I’ll never pick your body off the streets
We’re all taking heat here
The trust is broken I don’t get these police
Disenfranchised step in to a new life
Maybe if you listen to the wind there’s a war cry
Peace in America
Peace in America
Be decent America
I’m begging you

[Pre-Chorus]
What I see, in you
A young tree bearing fruit
Place to start
Don’t stand behind your heart

[Chorus]
You gotta put down the weight
You gotta get out of your way
You gotta put down the weight
You gotta get out of your way

Leave a Reply

